Summer Venture

gerard-smith-tv.jpg

Gerard Smith (from TV On the Radio – tho I’ve known him since his subway days) picks out and plays my new-used guitar. I’ve tooled around for years, but this resolution carries me for a few hot months: by my birthday, I’ll have a song ready to serenade you all with.Any requests?

p.s. Todd, trivia for ya: guess who passed on the first CocoRosie dub, straight back from France, before it (and as a result) became La Maison De Mon Rêve?

8 Responses to “Summer Venture”

  1. Michael Says:
    May 25th, 2007 at 8:12 am eA handsome guitar, in a suitably-King shade of things! Dark-blue is a fine musical color. We await the clear melodies and twanging dissonances to come . . . .
  2. john sakkis Says:
    May 25th, 2007 at 3:58 pm ebe my wife amy! then TVOTR can play our wedding…
  3. Todd Colby Says:
    May 25th, 2007 at 8:16 pm eEither Gerard or Ron Padgett (Ron’s been known to spin a few Coco-Platters at after dinner gatherings).

    Great reading with you the other night, and hopscotch talking outside the train station.

    Yay.

    Todd!

  4. Amy King Says:
    May 25th, 2007 at 9:46 pm eYesh, that was a transparent quiz – I said, I like this new group, and he said, blah blah blah – and I said, Wow! Then I sweet talked him into driving me to the guitar store, where he hooked up and picked everything out and laughed because I wanted a chord book.

    As for Ron, he’s too far away in VT to help me now. But in Oct, I’ll be mad needy ….

    Twas much fun, Todd! And the chatting part after was tops — you rock all Brooklyn halls and the rails too!

    John, we shall become domestic partners and Kyp will sing us a lesbian love song so sweet~

    Michael,

    The clear melodies may be a long shot, but the rest sounds about good!

    xo

  5. Rachel Mallino Says:
    May 26th, 2007 at 1:22 pm eAmy, I’m so envious – TV on the Radio is one of my favorite groups right now – they are amazing.

    BTW – thanks for posting that Knife video – I had never heard of them before and now I own six of their albums.

  6. Amy King Says:
    May 26th, 2007 at 1:35 pm eRachel,

    Come to Williamsburg! They’re all very chill guys who will hang with you, esp since they’re not on tour right now —

    And you’re most welcome for the Knife – spread the love~

    Cheers!

  7. Larry Sawyer Says:
    May 26th, 2007 at 2:40 pm edo you know the way to san jose?
  8. Amy King Says:
    May 26th, 2007 at 4:13 pm eGonna learn that one just for you!

Leave a Reply

